Systems of Care for CYSHCN

Cover of National Standards of Systems of Care 2.0

The National Standards for Systems of Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) define a comprehensive, coordinated, and family-centered system of care for CYSHCN, who make up 20 percent of US children.

Core Domains for System Standards

  1. Identification, Screening, Assessment and Referral
  2. Eligibility and Enrollment in Health Coverage
  3. Access to Care
  4. Medical Home
    • Pediatric Preventive and Primary Care
    • Medical Home Management
    • Care Coordination
    • Pediatric Specialty Care
  5. Community-Based Services and Supports
    • Respite Care
    • Palliative and Hospice Care
    • Home-Based Services
  6. Transition to Adulthood
  7. Health Information Technology
  8. Quality Assurance and Improvement

Using the National Standards

Many resources are available to help you use the National Standards to design, strengthen, and improve systems that serve CYSHCN and their families.

National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP):

  • National Standards for CYSHCN online toolkit provides links to critical tools, fact sheets, and resources that states can use to design, strengthen, and improve health care systems serving CYSHCN and their families.

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP):